Lazy Vacation and Cake

Yesterday was the start of Easter vacation, which was promptly filled with a lot of playing followed a trip to the library and the mall, which means we also had to go to the candy store:

Candy Soldier

And stop by the bakery for some sandwiches. BTW: I have never seen a child look so depressed in front of a case full of cake in all my life.

Sad, but there is cake!

And all were so tired on the way home.

So tired...

Yesterday was also rest day for me both because I did a long run Sunday and because I have had some pain coming on just above the inner side of my left ankle.  Today we went for a quick 6K just to try it out and it’s still a bit sore.  Hopefully, it will go away… time will tell.

Let There Be Cake!

Today was a horrible, windy, wet and even snowy (?!) day in Denmark, so we have been a little trapped inside, so I figured, what better than a little edible sunshine?  We had three grapefruit that have been laying around getting older… and older…. and I decided they should be used now before I have to throw them out.

Grapefruit

Grapefruit is one of those things I buy with the intention of eating, but actually pay to store in my house until they get so old I have to throw them out.  It’s a huge waste and I was tired of it.  So I made a recipe I have heard of but never actually made – Red grapefruit pound cake. It was so amazing… even the baby was down with it – and it did taste like grapefruit, but not in a strong, sour way!

Baby + cake

Recipe: Red Grapefruit Pound Cake

This recipe is a changed up version of the recipe on Homesick Texan.

250 grams of butter at room temperature
600 grams sugar
2 tablespoons red grapefruit zest
2 dl red grapefruit juice
Seeds from one vanilla pod
6 large eggs at room temperature
400 grams all-purpose white flour
2.5 dl butter milk
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Glaze: Powdered sugar, grapefruit juice, dark rum

Pre-heat the oven to 165C.  Grease and flour two small loaf pans or a 12 inch tube pan.

Start by creaming the butter and sugar together at a high speed until light and fluffy – about 4 minutes.  Mix in the grapefruit juice, zest and vanilla.  Mixi in the eggs one at a time (important: this is when it is vital the eggs and butter are at rom temperature or the mix will start to curdle).   In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, salt and baking soda.  Alternating between the two, mix half of the flour mixture into the butter, sugar and egg mixture followed by the butter milk.  Include the final half of the flour mixture.

Poor the cake mix into the pan or pans and place them in the oven for between 30-35 minutes or until a knife can be inserted and come out clean.

While the cake is cooking, mix some powdered sugar, grapefruit juice and a couple of teaspoons of dark rum together in a small bowl.  I didn’t do any measurements of this.  This glaze should be just a little thinner than butter mild and should taste pleasantly sweet and not boozy.  We are not necessarily out to get drunk and you can leave the rum out if you have cake loving kids like I do. I left some fine clumps of pulp in mine because that’s how I roll.

When the cakes come out, tip them out on a plate and cover them with the glaze immediately so the cake absorbs all of the sugary goodness.  I made a double batch – one in a tube pan and one in a loaf pan and discovered that you can also just poor it over the cake in the pan like I did here to lock in some of that sticky moisture.

image1

The glaze will make a crunchy crust when it’s cooled down.  Allow to cool and serve.  Ours didn’t last long!

Grapefruit Cake

Leave a Reply

